Week one – back in the class

So, I’ve been thinking about creating an additional blog where I can explore ideas strictly about teaching and learning. Why I chose today, the start of an extremely busy semester, is beyond me. I think I thrive in chaos.

I’m an adjunct in the First Year Writing Program at my local university, but that’s been my “part-time” gig while I took a break from full time public school teaching to focus on my family. I’m hoping to be back in public school next year, though I love it at the college, too.

I’m a certified English Language Learner teacher and I’ve worked with ELL students from kindergarten through the university. My goal is to help the world see that knowledge of English is not equivalent to intelligence. I want to give students the support they need to use the English language to communicate their brilliance.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

