Embrace the chaos

Twenty-three second graders are expecting me to know what I’m doing today. But, I don’t know what I am doing. Starting as a classroom teacher this far into the year is frightening. I have had no time to prepare; no workshops or meeting with the literacy coach, no planning time for Math Intervention, no first six weeks of school to set expectations. Just jump in, “Hey, I’m your new teacher!” and get going with the schedule.

Frightening.

Today will involve lots of talking as we get to know each other and lots of writing. We’ll read some stories together, and they will read on their own as I conference with small groups to get a sense of where they are.

 And there will be a fair amount of chaos. But, I have learned over the years to embrace the chaos. “All great changes are preceded by chaos.” But, I have the beginnings of a plan. I have the beginnings of a goal, based on the curriculum standards. I’ll take this week and a half before the Christmas break to get to know these young students, and in January, we’ll have more solid goals.

This week, I’ll embrace the chaos, and prepare for great change.

Leave a Reply

