The best test answer. Ever.

So, I worry about a few kids in my class at test time. They are working hard to reach the level of “academic proficiency” set by the state. It can do a number on your self-esteem. I have one student who worked his tail off to move up 5 reading levels this year, though it still puts him more than a grade level behind. He happily went with tutors to work on Math skills, only to get low grades back on every test. He never gave up, though you could see his frustration building. I was worried.

So, when I got his last Math test back with the following answer to the open response question, my worry disappeared. School had not beaten him down.

Keep at it, my young scholar, because you are absolutely right.

Image

Leave a Reply

