who gets the hat?

IMG_0108Jon Klassen’s We Found a Hat is his least dark addition to the hat series. I fell in love with Klassen with This is Not My Hat and I have not met a kid who didn’t agree with me that it was one of the best picture books around. They love that the thief gets it in the end, though they always hope they will get away with their own transgressions. How will the kids react to We Found a Hat? The friends in the story ultimately put their friendship over a hat that only one could have. It’s a love story, it’s a story about characters acting the way society wants them to act. Klassen’s other stories don’t follow the traditional kindness model we often see in picture books. And I think that’s why we love it.

We Found a Hat is pleasant. I still love the way Klassen tells a story, relying on his sparse  illustrations and short sentences, requiring his readers to pay attention to the connection between the two. But, I found myself wishing that one turtle ended the story wearing the hat.

Leave a Reply

